Synappses vs Teachable: Pricing, Fees and Features
A US course platform with tiered USD plans and student apps.
In this article
Teachable bills in dollars and charges 7.5% on its entry plan. Synappses is priced in rupees with 0% commission on every plan.
At a glance
| Teachable | Synappses | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $29 a month billed annually (Starter) | Free, then ₹7,199 a month billed annually (Basic) |
| Commission on sales | 7.5% on Starter; 0% on higher plans when you use Teachable Payments | 0% on every plan |
| Branded mobile app | iOS and Android student apps on every plan; the page does not say they can be branded | Branded iOS and Android apps on Medium and Pro |
| Content protection | Not stated on the pricing page | Download protection and DRM (L3) on Medium; DRM (L1) on Pro |
| Free plan | None stated; a trial is offered (7 or 30 days, the page says both) | Yes: 1:1 sessions, community, 1 product, earnings up to ₹5,000 |
| Billing currency | US dollars | Indian rupees, with a GST invoice on every bill |
Teachable plans
| Plan | Price | Fee on sales |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $29 a month billed annually ($39 monthly) | 7.5% |
| Builder | $69 a month billed annually ($89 monthly) | 0% with Teachable Payments |
| Growth | $139 a month billed annually ($189 monthly) | 0% with Teachable Payments |
| Custom | Contact sales | 0% with Teachable Payments |
Want to try this on your own academy?
Start free: 1:1 sessions, a community and 0% commission on every plan.
A note on pricing in dollars
Teachable prices its plans in US dollars, so the cost you pay in rupees moves with the exchange rate, and a foreign-currency card payment may add bank charges. Synappses is priced in rupees with a GST invoice on every bill, and charges 0% commission on every plan. See the Synappses plans for what each tier includes.
Which should you choose?
Choose Teachable if
- Your audience and payouts are mostly outside India and you are comfortable paying in dollars.
- You want a long-established global course platform with a large help library.
Choose Synappses if
- You sell mainly to Indian students and want pricing in rupees with a GST invoice on every bill.
- You want branded iOS and Android apps on Medium rather than a generic student app.
- You want a free plan to start selling 1:1 sessions before committing.
What to double-check
- Teachable's page says 0% fees apply when you use Teachable Payments. Standard processing fees may still apply.
- The page lists iOS and Android student apps but does not state whether they can carry your own branding.
- We have not confirmed whether Teachable supports UPI or INR checkout. Ask Teachable before relying on it.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Teachable charge transaction fees?
- Its Starter plan charges 7.5%. Its higher plans list 0%, with the condition that you use Teachable Payments.
Sell under your own brand and keep 100% of every sale
Start on the free plan with 1:1 sessions and a community. Upgrade when you are ready for your own domain and branded apps. 0% platform commission on every plan.