Synappses vs Thinkific: Pricing, Fees and Features
A course platform with a community add-on and an optional branded mobile app.
In this article
Thinkific sells its branded mobile app as a $199 a month add-on. On Synappses the branded iOS and Android apps are part of the Medium plan.
At a glance
| Thinkific | Synappses | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $40 a month billed annually (Basic) | Free, then ₹7,199 a month billed annually (Basic) |
| Commission on sales | 2.9% on Thinkific Payments; Stripe and PayPal fees apply separately | 0% on every plan |
| Branded mobile app | $199 a month add-on; included on select Plus contracts | Branded iOS and Android apps on Medium and Pro |
| Content protection | Not stated on the pricing page | Download protection and DRM (L3) on Medium; DRM (L1) on Pro |
| Free plan | None; 30-day free trial | Yes: 1:1 sessions, community, 1 product, earnings up to ₹5,000 |
| Billing currency | Dollar sign shown without naming the currency | Indian rupees, with a GST invoice on every bill |
Thinkific plans
| Plan | Price | Fee on sales |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | $40 a month billed annually ($54 monthly) | 2.9% on Thinkific Payments |
| Start | $82 a month billed annually ($109 monthly) | 2.9% on Thinkific Payments |
| Grow | $164 a month billed annually ($219 monthly) | 2.9% on Thinkific Payments |
| Plus | Custom | Not stated |
Want to try this on your own academy?
Start free: 1:1 sessions, a community and 0% commission on every plan.
A note on pricing in dollars
Thinkific prices its plans in US dollars, so the cost you pay in rupees moves with the exchange rate, and a foreign-currency card payment may add bank charges. Synappses is priced in rupees with a GST invoice on every bill, and charges 0% commission on every plan. See the Synappses plans for what each tier includes.
Which should you choose?
Choose Thinkific if
- You want a mature course builder with cohorts, certificates and B2B selling on higher plans.
- You sell internationally and are comfortable with dollar billing.
Choose Synappses if
- You want your own app under your name without paying an add-on on top of the plan.
- You want rupee pricing and a flat fee with no percentage of your sales.
What to double-check
- Thinkific's page shows a "$" price without naming the currency. It does not state whether Start and Grow include the mobile app.
- The 2.9% figure is the payment processing rate on Thinkific Payments, which is separate from the plan price.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Thinkific include a branded mobile app?
- It is an add-on at $199 a month, and the page says it is included on select Plus contracts.
Sell under your own brand and keep 100% of every sale
Start on the free plan with 1:1 sessions and a community. Upgrade when you are ready for your own domain and branded apps. 0% platform commission on every plan.