Synappses vs Topmate: Pricing, Fees and Features
A link-in-bio style platform for 1:1 sessions, webinars and digital products.
In this article
Topmate is free to join but takes 10% of sales made through your link and 20% of marketplace sales. Synappses lets you sell 1:1 sessions on its free plan and keeps 0% commission.
At a glance
| Topmate | Synappses | |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | No upfront fee | Free, then ₹7,199 a month billed annually (Basic) |
| Commission on sales | 10% of sales through your link; 20% of marketplace sales | 0% on every plan |
| Branded mobile app | Not stated on the pricing page | Branded iOS and Android apps on Medium and Pro |
| Content protection | Not stated on the pricing page | Download protection and DRM (L3) on Medium; DRM (L1) on Pro |
| Free plan | No upfront or recurring fee | Yes: 1:1 sessions, community, 1 product, earnings up to ₹5,000 |
| Billing currency | Not stated on the pricing page | Indian rupees, with a GST invoice on every bill |
Topmate plans
| Plan | Price | Fee on sales |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | No upfront fee | 10% of every sale made through your profile or link |
| Marketplace | No upfront fee | 20% on sales from new customers found through the marketplace |
| Custom | Contact sales (for creators earning ₹10 lakh or more a month) | Not stated |
Want to try this on your own academy?
Start free: 1:1 sessions, a community and 0% commission on every plan.
What the fee difference means in rupees
Topmate's Standard plan costs nothing upfront and takes 10% of sales. Synappses Basic billed annually is ₹86,388 a year with no commission. Comparing platform fees only, the two cost about the same at roughly ₹72,000 of sales a month. Below that, Topmate costs less. Above it, Synappses does.
| Monthly sales | Topmate Standard | Synappses Basic (annual) |
|---|---|---|
| ₹25,000 | ₹30,000 | ₹86,388 |
| ₹50,000 | ₹60,000 | ₹86,388 |
| ₹1,00,000 | ₹1,20,000 | ₹86,388 |
| ₹2,00,000 | ₹2,40,000 | ₹86,388 |
Which should you choose?
Choose Topmate if
- You are testing demand with a few paid sessions and want zero upfront cost and built-in discovery.
- You mostly sell scheduled calls and do not need your own branded site or app.
Choose Synappses if
- You want your own domain, site and branded app rather than a profile page on someone else's platform.
- You sell courses and a community as well as sessions and want to keep your full revenue.
What to double-check
- Topmate's comparison table shows "2%/3%" next to its name without explaining what those figures cover. We have not used them.
- Features are not mapped to plans on the pricing page.
Frequently asked questions
- Is Topmate free?
- There is no upfront or recurring fee. Topmate takes 10% of sales made through your link and 20% of marketplace sales.
Sell under your own brand and keep 100% of every sale
Start on the free plan with 1:1 sessions and a community. Upgrade when you are ready for your own domain and branded apps. 0% platform commission on every plan.