Thinkific Alternatives in India: Rupee Pricing and App Costs
Thinkific is a strong global builder priced in dollars. What it costs, where it gets expensive and what Indian creators compare it with.
In this article
Thinkific is a mature course builder with communities, coaching and cohorts. It is priced in dollars and sells its branded mobile app as an add-on, which is why Indian creators often compare it with rupee-priced platforms. This guide uses Thinkific's own pricing page and each alternative's pages, read on 14 October 2026.
What Thinkific charges
| Plan | Billed annually | Billed monthly | Notable limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | $40 a month | $54 a month | 1 community, 5 spaces; 5 coaching and webinar sessions; 1 admin |
| Start | $82 a month | $109 a month | Unlimited coaching and webinars; 2 admins; memberships and certificates |
| Grow | $164 a month | $219 a month | 3 communities; Thinkific branding removed; 6 admins; API access |
| Plus | Custom | Custom | SCORM, single sign-on; branded app on select contracts |
- Students: 10,000 on Basic, Start and Grow.
- Payments: 2.9% on Thinkific Payments. Stripe and PayPal fees apply separately.
- Branded mobile app: a $199 a month add-on, and included on select Plus contracts. The page does not say which plans can add it.
- There is no free plan; a 30-day free trial is offered.
- The page shows a "$" price without naming the currency, and does not state UPI or DRM.
Where it gets expensive for India
- Dollar billing. The rupee cost moves with the exchange rate.
- The app add-on. $199 a month is about $2,388 a year on top of the plan, before exchange-rate movement.
- Branding. Thinkific's own branding stays until the Grow plan.
Want to try this on your own academy?
Start free: 1:1 sessions, a community and 0% commission on every plan.
Alternatives compared
| Platform | Starting cost | Commission | Branded app |
|---|---|---|---|
| Synappses | Free; Basic ₹7,199 a month billed annually | 0% on every plan | Included on Medium and Pro (iOS and Android) |
| Graphy | ₹24,999 a year | 10% to 5% by plan | Android on paid plans; iOS on Rise |
| Learnyst | ₹26,997 a year (Launcher) | 10% on Launcher; 0% above | Premium (Android); Business (Android and iOS) |
| TagMango | No fixed fee on Basic | 10% down to 0% by plan | Separate one-time purchase from ₹74,999 |
| Podia | $42 a month billed annually | 5% on Mover | Not stated |
What Thinkific does well
- Mature course builder with cohorts, certificates and B2B selling on higher plans.
- Communities with several spaces on every plan.
- A large body of help content and integrations.
If you sell mainly to an international audience and are comfortable paying in dollars, it is a reasonable choice. If your students and your revenue are in India, compare the rupee cost over a year, and read the Synappses vs Thinkific comparison or our list of platforms for selling courses in India.
Frequently asked questions
- How much does Thinkific cost?
- Plans run from $40 a month billed annually (Basic) to $164 a month billed annually (Grow), or $54 to $219 billed monthly. A branded mobile app is a $199 a month add-on.
- Does Thinkific have a free plan?
- No. Its pricing page lists a 30-day free trial and no free plan.
- What is a cheaper alternative to Thinkific in India?
- Platforms priced in rupees avoid exchange-rate costs, and those that include a branded app avoid the add-on. Compare the full year's cost, including commission.
Sell under your own brand and keep 100% of every sale
Start on the free plan with 1:1 sessions and a community. Upgrade when you are ready for your own domain and branded apps. 0% platform commission on every plan.